Seek Up

While I have blogged unending regarding my life’s state of flux, this morning I was sitting, licking my whiskers and feeling sorry for myself due to the doxycycline injuries and intracranial pressure, Seek Up by Dave Matthews came on.  At first listen, I though GREAT!!! (BTW, I am too lazy at this moment to add quotation marks, bear bare bear with me) WHAT A WAY TO REVEL IN MY SELF PITY! A MELENCHOLY SONG!! but after tuning in my muddled hearing I discovered it is quite a motiviational song, and I don’t even really care for Dave Matthews all that much! 

Lyrics:

Sometimes I feel like I’m falling
Fall back again, fall back again,
Fall back again, fall back again

Oh, life it seems a struggle between
what we see and what we do
Well I’m not going to change my ways
just to please you or appease you
Inside a crowd, five billion proud
willing to punch it out
Right, wrong, weak, strong
ashes to ashes all fall down
Look around about this round about
this merry-go-round and around
Well If at all God’s gaze upon us falls
it’s with a mischievous grin, look at him

Forget about the reasons and
the treasons we are seeking
Forget about the notion that
our emotions can be swept away
Forget about being guilty
we are innocent instead
For soon we will all find our lives swept away

Late at night with TV’s hungry child
his belly swells
Well, for the price of a coke or a smoke
I could keep alive those hungry eyes
Man, take a look again, take a look again
Eveyday things change
Basically they stay the same

Forget about the reasons and
the treasons we are seeking
Forget about the notion that
our emotions can be kept at bay
Forget about being guilty
we are innocent instead
For soon we will all find our lives swept away

You seek up an emotion
and your cup is overflowing
You seek up on emotion,
sometimes your well is dry
You seek up a big monster
for him to fight your wars for you
But when he finds his way to you, the devil’s not
going, “Ha ha, ha ha”

(Say, oh say)

Oh look at me in my fancy car
and my bank account
Oh, how I wish I could take it all down
into my grave, God knows I’d save and save
Man, take a look again, take a look again
things you have collected, well in the end piles up
to one big nothing, one big nothing at all

Forget about the reasons and
the treasons we are seeking
Forget about the notion that
our emotions can be swept away
Intentions are not wicked, don’t be tricked into thinking so
And soon we will all find our lives swept away

You seek up an emotion
and your cup is overflowing
You seek up an emotion,
sometimes your well is dry
You seek up a big monster
for him to fight your wars for you
But when he finds his way to you, the devil’s not
going, “Ha ha, ha ha”

Fall back again, fall back again
Fall back again, fall back again

Well, at least I found it inspiring to want my cup to be full, to surrender to the money and the car and the bank account and the stuff. 
I worry about myself at this moment.  Without my dear friend anxiety, I just don’t know myself.  Who is this person with faith and grace?  Who is this person who wants less in order to have more?  Who is this person who wants to do good? 
I asked my husband last night if he though something was wrong with me because this is such a new, foreign thing for me.  I asked him if he thought I was depressed.  He laughed, I didn’t think it was funny…It’s always important to me to get other people’s opinions sometimes in order to check my perceptions.  I was relieved to hear him say that I didn’t appear to be depressed and quite honestly I don’t feel depressed. I feel free.  Liberated and glad about it. 
I am honestly very excited to be here in this strange land.  However foreign, the possibilities are endless. 
About concretecrissy

Self proclaimed francophile, lover of all things beautiful.

Leave a Reply

